Content that is created on one site can easily be shared with another site, ensuring that content that must be duplicated across sites is kept up to date more easily.
Consider the following before sharing content between sites;
- It is better to only have content published once, but there are scenarios where it is advantagous to duplicate the same content e.g. where sites attract different audience types
- Shared content can only be edited by the creating site
- Updates to the content are immediately replicated to the site using the shared content (the 'consuming' site)
- Shared content does not go through approval workflow on the consuming site
- Shared content may appear multiple times in search results
Site Admins can define which sites they wish to share content with. This is a Site setting.
Content editors can then mark individual items that they want to make shareable ('Share with other sites' tick box within Edit Content>Details tab).
Editors on the 'consuming' site can then choose to Add that content into their site via Manage Content > Shared Content > ‘Add to site’.
The shared content is then immediately available to include in a list or grid, either based on taxonomy or by specifically selecting the piece of content.
Please note: If you plan to use taxonomy terms to include the content in your site then it is important to ensure the taxonomy name is set up in your site before you 'Add to site'. You don’t need to copy the terms over, just add the taxonomy name which the content owner will be able to confirm to you.
If you add the content to your site before creating the taxonomy name, the taxonomy terms copy process and any filtering based on the terms won’t work. In this scenario, you can re-prompt the taxonomy term copying process by going to Manage Content > Shared Content, then clicking the ‘Remove from site’ option for the content, then re-select ‘Add to site’.
Further guidance can be found within Mosaic documentation: content-sharing